And Then There Were Five

A good thing happened at 3:30 am this morning.

I got up at that time to answer the call of nature and noticed a flashing red light from my bedroom window. It went on for about a minute so I took a peek and noticed there were two guards who kept looking at the front door. One then spoke on the radio while the other shone his torchlight and walked towards the river bank.

And then there were five guards, with the arrival of a supervisor and others.

My curiosity was piqued and I switched on the balcony lights to ask what was happening. One of the guards informed me that the boot of my car was open. My wife then told me she had kept it open to air because the aroma of  Musang King was too much and she had forgotten to close it.

So it was really nothing. But it is a big deal to me and I am delighted to relate this because we  have a security company that is doing its job and that is even before the SOP is formally introduced by the new GCD management. The guard who went over to the riverfront did so to check whether there has been a breach. I do not think we would have this kind of action in the past. Many residents share the observation that the guards are performing well. It will get better with the adoption of the SOP.

The responsiveness of the new management detected thus far has been a sea change. They ask to meet up monthly and they ask for the SOP and House Rules that GCROA has helped to formulate so they could move on it.

No one can guarantee there will never be another break-in but if the security is conscientious as they were this morning, the likelihood of that happening takes a beating.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And Then There Were Five

  1. yfyin says:

    I saw the drastic change too, compare with the previous company, the present guards on bike with revolving blue lights is effective and similar to police patrol car effect. Hope this is permanent.

  2. Gary says:

    Definitely feel safer. Happy to call this place my home. Kudos! to the new management

  3. wkchoo says:

    Glad to hear that and bravo to the new team. Keep up the good work!

Comments are closed.